Ash Wednesday Reflections

Standard
I thought I would share some meditations that I am receiving via my email, to help you on your Lenten journey. I hope to do these daily, because I find that it helps me to read what I have been sent and it can’t hurt for others to read as well. If you want to receive them yourself, you can sign up here and Flocknote will send them to your email daily. Hope you enjoy the reflection time and come closer to God as well. God bless.

Excerpt from the Diary of St. Faustina:

In order to hear the voice of God, one has to have silence in one’s soul and to keep silence; not a gloomy silence, but an interior silence; that is to say, recollection in God. One can speak a great deal without breaking silence and, on the contrary, one can speak little and be constantly breaking silence. … God does not give Himself to a chattering soul which, like a drone in a beehive, buzzes around but gathers no honey. A talkative soul is empty inside (Diary – 118).

Meditation:

Dear Jesus, sometimes I am afraid of silence. I fill my day with distractions, with music, with background noise, and with other things because I fear the void. Maybe I am afraid of what You will ask of me. Help me to not be afraid of silence. Help me to realize that, in Your gentleness, You will never force Your will on me. Teach me how to open my heart to You, so I can receive what it is that You want to give me. Help me to find You in the silence.

– Fr. Joseph Roesch, MIC

Leave a Reply

