Robots Tres

Standard

So I got all caught up in the excitement of the robot tournament/match that I completely forgot to finish up what I was discussing about how the meets actually are run.

So after qualifying the teams are ranked one to twenty-four. My daughter’s team qualified in third place, which I thought was pretty awesome. She was kind of all, “whatever” because well they have done it before, so…

After the teams are ranked the top eight teams then can start picking teams that they want to be on an alliance with. I noticed that during the competition several people were following along, each assigned a different robot, very intently. Apparently this data was then processed to give the captains an idea of who the best team to align with would be. Total geekville there, I have to admit, and they should get a gold star or something for their efforts, but even with my untrained eye, I knew which robots were the best, and which robots needed some assistance.

The alliances were really made behind the stage since no one wanted to be embarrassed if someone were to say no – I guess it has happened before. A lot of times, team one will pick team two and so on down the line enabling team one to be matched up against an alliance that has two teams ranked fifteen and sixteen, thus enabling them to make it to the semifinals easier. This is set up for competition yes, but they don’t want anyone to get their feelings hurt. Good lessons for these kids to learn, too bad it isn’t like that in the real world.

My daughter’s team which qualified third was chosen to be in an alliance with the team that qualified first. My daughter’s team can hang their robot, which is worth a lot of points, and others can not. So even if they came in dead last, they probably would have been picked right away just for the hanging.

After the alliances are made the teams then can set up strategy and all that fun stuff. It was a little different at this meet than others because they had three teams on an alliance – again, we don’t want anyone to have hurt feelings. This also meant that during the best of three format for the remainder of the meet, the three teams would need to switch out so that every team in the alliance got a chance to compete for the glory.

First quarterfinal match was probably indicative of a real world situation as the top two teams on my daughter’s alliance, went up against the teams in alliance number eight. Final score was 79-2. The highest score of the day to that point was 42. Domination to the extreme, and then when my daughter’s team took a break and the third team on the alliance participated, they still won, but it was a lot closer.

The only hiccup alliance one had, happened when the driver controls lost connection with the robot because of some faulty wiring. Surprisingly enough, they did not allow them to run that game again, enabling a team to beat them and get their hopes up, while looking for the upset. They also happened to belong to the school hosting the event, but that was just a coincidence. Really it was.

In the finals they finished up the competition with two more matches and the awards came out shortly after that.

I was excited because the girls qualified for the U.S. Nationals, which I thought was a big deal, and state – also a big deal in my book. The girls were all “meh” about it since apparently this was the fifth time that they qualified for these events already.

Nice.

All in all, I will admit that it was a great time, which really did surprise me, and when I figure it out, I will try to post some video.

Next weekend, we have gymnastics! Can not wait.

Seriously.

Leave a Reply

